You are the owner of this article.

What Do You Want To Know From the Municipal Primary Election Candidates?

You have until the end of the end of today to submit your questions and vote on others

  • 0
  • 3 min to read

Early voting for the Tuesday, May 7 primary election began on Wednesday, April 9.

That means between now and Monday, May 6, any eligible voter can cast an in-person absentee ballot at the county clerk's office, or request an absentee ballot by mail. Requests for absentee ballots by mail must be delivered by Monday, April 29.

Military families are encouraged to remind those serving overseas to request an absentee ballot in advance of the deadline.

Be sure to check your registration with the Indiana Secretary of State's office before you head to the polls.

Here's what else you need to know before you cast your ballot, and make your voice heard.

Who is on my ballot?

If you head to the Marion County Voter Information Portal and type in your street address you can find customized voting information for your specific location.

You can check where your polling place will be on Election Day, your registration status, your voting district, who your elected officials are, who the candidates are, your sample ballot, and more.

The following offices are up for election in Marion County during the 2019 municipal election:

Beech Grove: City Clerk-Treasurer; City Common Council (Two At-Large Seats, and Districts 1-5); City Judge; and Mayor.

Clermont: Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council (Two At-Large Seats).

Crow's Nest: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council (Three At-Large Seats).

Cumberland: Town Clerk-Treasurer; Town Council (Districts 1-4); and Town Judge.

Homecroft: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Council (Four At-Large Seats).

Indianapolis/Marion County: City-County Council (Districts 1-25); and Mayor.

Lawrence: City Clerk; City Common Council (Three At-Large Seats, and Districts 1-6); and Mayor.

Meridian Hills: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council (Three At-Large Seats).

Rocky Ripple: Town Council Member (Three At-Large Seats).

Southport: City Clerk-Treasurer; City Common Council (One At-Large Seat, and Districts 1-4); and Mayor.

Speedway: Town Council (Districts 1-5).

Warren Park: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council (Two At-Large Seats).

William's Creek: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council (Two At-Large Seats).

Wynnedale: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council Member (Five At-Large Seats).

Make your voice heard

Through the end of today we're still collecting questions for the Indianapolis mayoral and City-County Council candidates. You can also vote on the questions we've already received. Once we've tallied the results, we'll send out the top five most popular questions we've received from you, our readers.

Here are the candidates in each of the races who will receive the questions from us by the end of this week. If you see your name on this list, please send your correct email address to so we can send the questions to the right place. Each candidate will have 100 words or fewer to answer each of the five questions. The answers, candidate biography, and high quality mug shot are due back no later than Friday, April 26.

Indianapolis Mayor

Felipe Rios (R)

Christopher James Moore (R)

James W. Merritt (R)

Denise Paul Hatch (D)

Joe Hogsett (D)

Indianapolis City-County Council

District 1

Leroy Robinson (D)

Richard J. Anderson (R)

District 2

Keith Potts (D)

Colleen Fanning (R)

Thye Petty (D)

District 3

Dan Jones (R)

Dan Boots (D)

Coleman J. Watson (D)

District 4

Ethan P. Evans (D)

Timothy Alan Knight (D)

Mike McQuillen (R)

District 5

Alison (Ali) Brown (D)

Sherron Wellington Franklin (D)

Adam Cox (R)

Crystal Puckett (D)

District 6

Crista Carlino (D)

Janice Shattuck McHenry (R)

District 7

John Barth (D)

District 8

Monroe Gray Jr. (D)

Eric L. Cunningham (D)

District 9

William Duke Oliver (D)

Leigh Riley Evans (D)

Phillip L. Anderson Sr. (D)

Martha Baker Blue (D)

District 10

Maggie A. Lewis (D)

District 11

Evan Shearin (R)

Vop Osili (D)

District 12

Blake Johnson (D)

District 13

Keith Graves (D)

Deandra Denise Yates (D)

District 14

La Keisha Jackson (D)

Rena Allen (D)

District 15

Bryan Chatfield (D)

Andy Harris (R)

Jessica McCormick (D)

District 16

Patrick Wagner (D)

Kristin Jones (D)

Laura Giffel (R)

District 17

Zach Adamson (D)

Joseph Denney (D)

Paula J. Barnett (R)

District 18

Duane Ingram (D)

Carrie Zapfe (R)

District 19

Tony Mendez (R)

David M. Ray (D)

District 20

Jason Holliday (R)

Phil Webster (D)

District 21

Frank Mascari (D)

Tyler Richardson (R)

District 22

Jason A. Richey (R)

Jared Evans (D)

District 23

Paul Annee (R)

District 24

Thomas L. Vaughn (R)

Doug Wood (R)

Ben Brown (D)

District 25

Brian Mowery (R)

Justin Braun (D)

Early voting locations and hours

In Marion County, eligible voters can vote early at the Marion County Clerk's Office in the City-County Building, 200 E. Washington St. Weekday hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. through Friday, April 26; 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. from Monday, April 29 through Friday, May 3; and 8 a.m. to noon Monday, May 6. Weekend hours are 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday, April 27; Sunday, April 28; Saturday, May 4; and Sunday, May 5.

Later this month, two additional satellite locations will be open for early voting — the Perry Township Government Center, 4925 Shelby St.; and the Washington Township Government Center, 5302 N. Keystone Ave. Weekday hours for both locations are scheduled for 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday, April 29 to Friday, May 3. Weekend hours are 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday, April 27; Sunday, April 28; Saturday, May 4; and Sunday, May 5.

Rob Burgess, News Editor at NUVO, can be reached by email at, by phone at 317-808-4614 or on Twitter @robaburg.

Writer - Local Government and Justice

My background is that I'm the fourth generation in my family to work as a journalist. I also have a degree from Indiana University in Elementary Education. My wife, Ash, and I have two children, Harper, 4, and Emerald, 1.