Healthcare in the closet


Human Rights Campaign has an ongoing list — well, a formula rather — called the Healthcare Equality Index. It's intended to measure how well healthcare providers can service the needs of the LGBTQ community. The following are the criteria for how each is measured and how local hospitals measured up against a national standard (Pulled from HRC website.)

1. Patient Non-Discrimination

Patient non-discrimination policy (or patients' bill of rights) is fully LGBTQ inclusive and includes both the terms "sexual orientation" and "gender identity." LGBTQ-inclusive patient non-discrimination policy is communicated to patients in at least two readily-accessible ways.

2. Equal Visitation

Visitation policy explicitly grants equal visitation to LGBTQ patients and visitors.

Equal visitation policy is communicated to patients and visitors in at least two readily accessible ways.

3. Employment Non-Discrimination

Employment non-discrimination policy (or equal employment opportunity policy) is fully LGBTQ — inclusive and includes both the terms "sexual orientation" and "gender identity."

4. Training in LGBTQ

Patient-Centered Care

HEI approved training in LGBTQ patient-centered care was provided to key staff members in 2014. Hospitals are able to apply for HEI leadership status, meaning they met all of the above categories.

The following providers in Indiana

met that mark:

• VA Richard L. Roudebush Medical Center

• Eskenazi Health

• IU Health Ball Memorial Hospital in Muncie

These other Indiana hospitals received a "yes"

in all of the areas except number four.

• Parkview Whitley Hospital in Columbia City

• Columbus Regional Hospital

• Parkview Health in Fort Wayne

Indiana University Health failed repeatedly in numbers two and three.


Recommended for you