Some Election Day Fast Facts for

Marion County, Indiana from Marion County Clerk Beth White's Office:

Marion County Registered Voters:


- About 6,730 Marion County

residents newly registered since the November 2010 general election.

- October 11 was the voter

registration deadline in Indiana

Total Number of Precincts: 590

Total Number of Polling Locations:


- Polls are open from 6 a.m. to

6 p.m. in Indianapolis/Marion County

- If voters are in the chute (a

defined area at least 50 feet from the voting activity) at 6 p.m., they must be

permitted to vote.

Absentee Numbers (as of 12:45

pm, Monday, November 7)

- Total Absentee ballots: 18,766

- Early In-Person Voters: 8,709

- Traveling Board &

fax/email (military & overseas only): 593

- Mail: 9.464

- 2007 municipal election

comparison: 10,600 total absentees

- Absentee Deadlines

- Early voting ended a noon,

Monday, November 7

- Civilian voters must return

their vote-by-mail ballots before 6 pm Election Day, Nov. 8.

Marion County Voters

- Issues at the polls on

Election Day? Call (317) 327-VOTE and select option 2

Poll Workers

- Each precinct traditionally

has one Inspector, who serves as the precinct's manager under Indiana

election law.

- There are no more than two

Judges, one from each major political party, at each precinct. Judges

assist voters using the

touch-screen machines and check voter IDs.

- There are no more than two

Clerks, one from each major political party, at each precinct. Clerks manage

the poll books and provide each voter with a ballot.

Inspector Hotline

- Election Board recruits about

25 people in every election to serve as hotline operators, answering calls

and helping poll workers

troubleshoot issues out in the field.

- Operators use the Election

Board's Incident Reporting Software, developed by the county's IT department to

disseminate, track and report issues.

Election Results

- When the polls close, the poll

workers run an unofficial results report, break down the voting machines and

account for all of the ballots

- Materials are delivered to

four regional locations

- Data from the electronic media

from the voting machines is uploaded to the central location

- Election Services Center at

3737 E. Washington St.

- Results are released

cumulatively on the city's website –


If the tech gods are with us, they'll be streaming live to, as well.

Election Administration

Marion County Board of Voter


- Bi-partisan board with a

co-director from the two major political parties

- Separate legal entity from the

Election Board

- Responsible for maintaining

Marion CountyÕs voter registration database

Marion County Election Board

- Three member board: one

Democrat, one Republican and the elected Clerk of the Circuit Court, who serves

by virtue of her elected office

- Chairman: Mark Sullivan (D)

- Vice-Chairman: Patrick

Dietrick (R)

- Secretary: Elizabeth White,

Marion County Clerk

- The two partisan members are

appointed by the local major political parties and serve at the pleasure of the

respective party's chair

- Election Board is responsible

for administering and managing federal, municipal and special elections as

governed by applicable state and federal laws and the enforcement of election laws,

including those relating to interference with elections, voter intimidation and

voter fraud.

Mayor's Office

- The mayor's office is

responsible for selecting polling locations in Marion County because the mayor

is the county executive

Community journalism can only survive with community support.

If local, independent journalism matters to you, please consider supporting NUVO with a paid membership. In 2019, 100 percent of membership dollars go towards our editorial budget/paying writers.