"The Indiana Society of Professional Journalists handed out the 2006 awards last Friday for print, radio and television. NUVO was well represented by its award-winning artists, designers, critics, writers and interns again this year.  

Best Editorial Cartoon (all Indiana publications)

Wayne Bertsch, third place

Best Layout/Design Page One (non-daily newspapers)

Amy Kim, second place “Hoop Dreams”

Best Layout/Design Other Than Page One (non-daily newspapers)

Amy Kim, second place “Oscarlicious”

Amy Kim, third place “Savion Glover on Tap”

Best Critique/Review — Arts/Entertainment/Food (non-daily newspapers)

Ed Johnson-Ott, first place

Judges comments: “Ott’s non-pretentious, conversation style lends itself to trustworthy commentary.”

Terry Kirts, third place

Best Medical/Science Reporting (any publication +40k circulation)

Mia Bauman, third place “When Sick Happens to You”

Best Education Coverage (any publication +40k circulation)

David Hoppe, second place “Teaching the Whole Child”

Best Environmental Coverage (any publication +40k circulation)

Laura McPhee, second place “Factory Farms”

Best Sports Reporting (non-daily newspaper or magazine)

David Hoppe, first place “Being Jim Irsay”

Judges comments: “Nice color to open story, followed by insightful Q&A with Super Bowl champs owner.”

Best Personality Profile (non-daily newspaper)

David Hoppe, first place “Deciding Controversy”

Judges comments: “Well crafted story. All quotes criticizing [Judge David Hamilton] give the reader a good perspective while reading [his] comments.”

Best Investigative Reporting (non-daily newspaper)

Laura McPhee, third place “Pollution, Politics, & Profits”

Best Social Justice Reporting (any publication +40k circulation)

Laura McPhee, first place “Blowing Off the Whistleblowers”

Judges comments: “In a category filled with award deserving entries, this piece stood out. The story is not only well researched but it gives the reader human interest to latch on to.”

Additionally, NUVO’s editorial intern this semester, Katy Yeiser, editor of the University of Indianapolis paper The Reflector, won nine awards in the student division.



Recommended for you