Legacy Hoosiers unveiled

A Statue of Tecumseh at the US Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland.

We just received the following information from

the Mayor's Office:


Greg Ballard today introduced the names of the inaugural class of Hoosier

honorees to be memorialized on columns running along Georgia Street. Following

this year's inaugural class of 10

names, Mayor Ballard intends to add a few names each year hereafter. This new

public space can accommodate up to 30 decorative columns.

"I thought this project

would be something I looked forward to undertaking on an annual basis, but in

all honesty, it's not easy to pick

from so many great Hoosiers who have left an indelible mark on our city, state

and country," said Mayor

Ballard. "I am sure these names

will spark debate; hopefully they'll

also prompt strong interest in learning more about the history of our great


The first

10 honorees include (in alphabetical order):

President Benjamin Harrison:

In1881 the Civil War general was elected by the Indiana General Assembly to the

U.S. Senate. As Senator he argued six cases before the U.S. Supreme Court. He remains the only U.S.President elected from the State of Indiana.http://www.in.gov/gov/3030.htm

The Lilly Family:

The family of Colonel Eli Lilly, through entrepreneurial, civic

and philanthropic acts, has done more for this city than can be captured in

words. This honor is designed to reflect the history and generosity of the

family through the decades.http://www.lilly.com/about/Pages/history.aspx

President Abraham Lincoln:

The future President spent his youth and formative years in Indiana, and no list of

great Hoosiers would be complete without our nation's 16thand most celebrated President.


J.L. "Wes" Montgomery:

This legendary jazz guitarist, Grammy winner and Indianapolis native has been an influence on musicians for decades.http://www.in.gov/gov/3520.htm

Ernest "Ernie" Pyle:

The American journalist wrote as a roving correspondent for the Scripps Howard

newspaper chain from 1935 until his death in combat during World War II. He was

awarded a Pulitzer Prize in 1944.http://www.in.gov/gov/3577.htm

Booth Tarkington:

A two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author, his novels "The Magnificent Ambersons"

– widely considered one of the greatest American novels of all time

– and "The Gentleman from

Indiana" are both master works

based on Tarkington's experiences in


May Wright Sewall:

The renowned leader of the women's suffrage movement served as a delegate to the 1st National

Suffrage Convention, was President of both the National and International

Councils of Women, and co-founded multiple civic organizations in Indianapolis.http://www.in.gov/gov/2562.htm


The Shawnee chief, orator, warrior and diplomat was leader of the

Shawnee Confederation and one of the most important Native American leaders in


Madame C.J. Walker:


entrepreneur was the first self-made female American millionaire and the wealthiest

African-American woman in America during her lifetime.http://www.in.gov/gov/2566.htm

Lew Wallace:

The Civil War General was author of the best-selling American

novel "Ben-Hur:

A Tale of the Christ,"member

of the tribunal that tried the Lincoln conspirators, Governor of the New Mexico

Territory and American Ambassador to the Ottomans.http://www.in.gov/gov/2564.htm


Ballard solicited legacy honoree recommendations from the Greater Indianapolis

Progress Committee (GIPC). The GIPC recommendation panel included: Deborah

Daniels, Chairperson of GIPC; Theodore Boehm, Indiana Supreme Court Justice

(ret); Gerald Bepko, Chancellor Emeritus, IUPUI; Ray Boomhower, Senior Editor at the Indiana Historical Society;

Thomas King, owner, Thomas A. King Consulting;

Samuel Odle, Executive Vice President/COO, IU Health;

Dr. Patricia Payne, Director of Multi-Cultural Education at Indianapolis Public

Schools; Joseph Slash, President of the Indianapolis Urban League; and, Fay

Williams, attorney. The panel also relied on the recommendations of noted

historians including: Wilma Moore, Senior Archivist of African American History

at the Indiana Historical Society; Dale Ogden, Senior Curator of Cultural

History at the Indiana State Museum; Stephen E. Towne, Associate University

Archivist with IUPUI Special Collections and Archives; and Dr. David Vanderstel, Executive Director of Advancement at Martin University.

The panel

considered many factors when weighing its recommendations including: person has

been deceased at least 20 years, spent a significant portion of their life in

Indiana and the person's

accomplishments attained national/international recognition.


of columns honoring these great Hoosiers will begin along Georgia Street in

February. They will be dedicated in early March in conjunction with the Big Ten

Basketball Tournament. The cost of each column is about $10,000. The 2011

Indianapolis Super Bowl Host Committee is donating the cost of these monuments

as part of its legacy project to impact our community beyond the game.


Recommended for you