Three incumbent Republican women easily won re-election of their respective state offices on Tuesday.

Auditor Tera Klutz, Secretary of State Connie Lawson, and Treasurer Kelly Mitchell were all re-elected.

This is the first election for Klutz, who was appointed last year after Gov. Eric Holcomb appointed her to replace now Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch. Klutz faced a challenge from Democrat Joselyn Whitticker and Libertarian John Schick.

Mitchell, who was first elected in 2014, faced a challenge from Democrat John C. Aguilera.

Lawson was first appointed in 2012 by then Gov. Mitch Daniels after predecessor Charlie White resigned. Lawson faced a re-election challenge from Democratic Party candidate Jim Harper, Pirate Party candidate Jeremy Heath, Libertarian candidate Mark W. Rutherford, and Green Party candidate George W. Wolfe.

As of 12:20 a.m. on Wednesday, with 87.5 percent of 5,341 precincts reporting, according to the Indiana Secretary of State's office:

  • Klutz—57.9 percent—1,029,629 votes

  • Whitticker—38.7 percent—688,547 votes

  • Schick—3.4 percent—61,324

  • Mitchell—61.3 percent—1,083,631 votes

  • Aguilera—38.7 percent—684,148 votes

  • Lawson—58.6 percent—1,052,734 votes

  • Harper—38.1 percent—684,532 votes

  • Rutherford—3.2 percent—57,813 votes

  • Wolfe—21 votes

  • Heath—5 vtes

Following the victory, Indiana Republican Party Chairman Kyle Hupfer released the following statement:

“It’s all about results for Connie Lawson, Tera Klutz and Kelly Mitchell. Their victories tonight are a win for Hoosiers, as together they are providing great government service at our Statehouse. Connie Lawson is safeguarding our elections, Tera Klutz is keeping Indiana the fiscal envy of the nation, and Kelly Mitchell is investing Indiana’s funds wisely. Congratulations to these proven leaders who will continue to keep Indiana on the right track.”

Rob Burgess, News Editor at NUVO Newsweekly, can be reached by email at, by phone at 317-808-4614 or on Twitter @robaburg.


News Editor