3rd Margot album, Buzzard, due Sept. 21

Album art for Buzzards.

  • Album art for Buzzards.

Just got a press release regarding the third album by the now Chicago-based, slimmed-down version of Margot & the nuclear so and so's (not sure if they've officially dropped a few capital letters, but I directly copy from the release). The album, Buzzard, is due Sept. 21 on Mariel Recordings (the band's own label) with distribution through Redeye. Meaning that the Margot's rather convoluted major label run — during which they spent time on some now-defunct outfits before ending up with Epic — has come to an end.

Other tidbits to share: Richard Edwards now lives in an abandoned movie theater (does that mean he's squatting?), and the current Margot trio consisting of Edwards, Tyler Watkins and Erik Kang was supplemented by Tim Rutili (Califone, Red Red Meat), Joe Adamik, Cameron McGill, Katie Todd and Ronnie Kwasman for the album.

The band is touring the country from mid-September to mid-October, and will stop in Indianapolis Oct. 15 for an appearance at the Broad Ripple Music Festival and in Bloomington Oct. 14 at The Bishop.

Album opener "Birds" has been available for months now on the band's Musical Family Tree page, at least in a demo version (about halfway down the page). Several album tracks are also available in live, acoustic versions (check out the January 2010 Schuba's set).

And "NYC Hotel Blues" is on the band's Facebook.

Here's the track list:

1. Birds

2. Let's Paint Our Teeth Green

3. New York City Hotel Blues

4. Claws Off

5. Will You Love Me Forever?

6. Tiny Vampire Robot

7. Your Lower Back

8. Freak Flight Speed

9. My Baby (Cares For The Animals)

10. Lunatic, lunatic, lunatic

11. Earth To Aliens: What Do You Want?

12. I Do


Recommended for you