The glorious, gorgeous KO


A pleasing announcement arrived in my inbox this morning from John Beeler, announcing the creation of The Music Council, a collection of interesting characters from all realms of the Indy music (and tech) scene. The Council will hold an inaugural meetup in October, and conversations will continue from there. I'll keep you updated on this exciting new development. In the meantime, see Beeler's press release below.

INDIANAPOLIS - A group of music industry veterans are teaming up to advance the music culture and business of central Indiana starting with a conversation featuring local and national musicians. From 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. on October 3 The Music Council will present the first in a series of events titled "The Green Room" at the Joyful Noise performance space (Murphy Building - 1043 Virginia Ave, Suite 207 / Indianapolis, IN 46220). This event will feature a conversation between Pulitzer Prize Winner Caroline Shaw, composer Ryan Lott of Son Lux, and local musician Kristin Newborn of KO sharing ideas and challenges between musicians, labels, and other industry representatives.

The Music Council formed after a group of local music professionals took part in Indy Music Project, which showcased 46 songs from diverse Indiana artists, exemplifying the rich musical past and present of Indianapolis for our Super Bowl visitors. 18 months later, the group has grown and continues to strive to represent the rich diversity of our current music scene.

"A thriving music scene helps a city attract and retain talent," Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce President and CEO. Michael Huber said. "The Music Council will work across sectors to help create opportunities for artists which, if successful, will improve Indianapolis' position among major cities competing for talent."

The group has defined its mission is to facilitate and foster the growth of music culture in central Indiana, as it relates to improving diversity, economy, livability, and vibrancy.

"We're looking at this as a strategy not another organization," said John Beeler of Asthmatic Kitty Records. "There are already so many organizations in the city doing great work, and we don't want to be redundant. Instead, this is an ad hoc group convened to encourage and spurn more music business in central Indiana."

The first Green Room event is open to the public and will focus on crossing and exploring genres, working with institutions (such as symphony orchestras and film studios). The event also seeks to provide ample opportunity for facilitated question and answer time with the audience.

Caroline Shaw is a composer and musician, and recent recipient of the Pulitzer Prize winner for music. Ryan Lott performs and composes under the moniker Son Lux, has contributed to film scores such as Looper, Don Jon, and The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby, andwill be releasing his next full-length via Indianapolis-based Joyful Noise. Kristin Newborn is a local musician currently performing as a member of KO, who has also performed with Slothpop and worked with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra.

"Indy has such a rich heritage in music and has been the starting place for some of the Nation's best artists," said Mosaic City's Malina Simone Jeffers. "Indy is ripe for something like this and artists have been craving it."

Members of the Music Council organizing committee include the following:

Jeb Banner (SmallBox, Musical Family Tree)

John Beeler (Asthmatic Kitty Records)

Kasey Bradley (SmallBox, Musical Family Tree)

Aman Brar (Apparatus)

Ronald Caltabiano (Jordan College of the Arts, Butler University)

Abby Goldsmith (General Public)

Karl Hofstetter (Joyful Noise Recordings)

Michael Huber (Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce)

Malina Simone Jeffers (Mosaic City)

Craig Lile (MOKB Presents, Do317)

Robert Meitus (Meitus Gelbert Rose LLP)

Doug Morris (Old Soul Entertainment)

Jordan Munson (IUPUI Music and Arts Technology)

Sharon Rickson (Girls Rock Indy)

Sarah Ross (Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra)

Annie Skinner (A-Squared Industries)

Chris Swanson (Secretly Canadian Records)