WISH (Channel 8), WTHR (Channel 13) and WFYI (Channel 20) came home from Saturday night's 38th annual Regional Emmy Awards ceremony in Cleveland with bragging rights.

WISH’s “Daybreak” and 11 p.m. newscasts won Outstanding Daily Newscast, two of seven Emmys for the station. WTHR took home 16 awards and WFYI received nine from the Lower Great Lakes Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

WRTV (Channel 6) received two trophies; Ball State University and Indianapolis-based independent producer Ben Strout won one each.

Individually, it was a particularly good night for WTHR videographer Steve Rhodes, who won four awards, WTHR reporter Kevin Rader, who won three, and WISH's Stacey Thorne Conrad, executive producer of Channel 8's two award-winning newscasts.

Here are the local winners, listed by station:


Outstanding Daily Newscast, Market 21-40: “News 8 at 11,” WISH, Stacey Thorne Conrad, executive producer.

Outstanding Morning or Daytime Newscast, Market 21-40: “Daybreak” at 6 a.m., WISH, Stacey Thorne Conrad, executive producer.

Newscast Production: “News 8 at 11,” Adam Krent (producer).

Cultural Affairs Program: “Fireworks of Glass,” Steve Bray (reporter) and Joseph Starlin (photographer/editor).

Station Promotion Single Spot: “Bring on the Final Four,” Marisa Cotten (producer/editor).

Graphic Designer: Sergio Camacho.

Research: “A 911 Emergency,” Loni Smith McKown.


Weathercaster: Jude Redfield.

Investigative Reporting: “Cause for Alarm,” Bob Segall (investigative), William Ditton (photojournalist), Gerry Lanosga (producer).

Live Breaking News: “Eyewitness News at Noon,” "Plane in Pond," Kelly Griese (producer), Scott Swan (reporter), Mike Wilhite (executive producer).

General Reporting: "Long Journey Home," Kevin Rader (reporter).

News Report Soft News: "Brush with History," Kevin Rader (reporter), Steve Rhodes (editor).

News Series Hard News: "After the Attack," Anne Marie Tiernon (reporter), Stephen Starnes (photographer), Holly Stephen (producer).

Videographer News: Steve Rhodes.

Editor News: Steve Rhodes.

Editor Promotion: "P.O.P.," "Prison," "Danica," Brian Mulligan.

Writer News: Kevin Rader.

Research: "Cause for Alarm," Gerry Lanosga.

Audio: "Centuries of Sound," Steve Rhodes.

Sports Report: "Hell Hath No Fury ..," Tony Fuller (photojournalist), Jim Hall (writer).

Director News: “Eyewitness News at 5:30,” Ray Masterson.

Commercials: "Indyautos.com," Neil White (producer/director), Terry Ross (graphic designer), Brian Mulligan (editor).

Community Service: “Shattering the Silence,” Angela Cain (community service), Scott Swan (news anchor), Young-Hee Yedinak (senior producer).


Anchor Sportscaster: Dave Furst.

Lighting: News Open, Donald A. Foss and Steve Brenneman (lighting design).


On-Camera Talent Non-News: Aric Hartvig (producer).

Editorial Commentary: “Across Indiana,” Porch Talk, Philip Gulley (talent/writer).

Children/Youth Programs Specials: “Reading Rainbow 2006 Young Writers and Illustrators Contest,” Lisa DeHayes (producer/director).

Public Affairs Programs Regularly Scheduled: “Communities Building Community” (Episode 301), Gary Harrison and Judy O'Bannon (producers/writers).

Special Programs: “Lest We Forget,” Chris Elberfield (videographer), Judi Border (graphic designer), Kim Jacobs (producer); and “The Wabash: Life on the Bright White River,” Gary Harrison (producer), Chris Elberfield (videographer).

Public Service Announcement: “Experience It All at Indyarts.org,” Bob Williams (producer/director), Pete Saetre (editor).

Videographer Non-News: Kaline Schounce.

Writer Non News: The Hope Givers, Jim Simmons and Diane Willis (writers).


Director Tape/Film: “Fire and Ice: The Winter War of Finland and Russia,” Ben Strout, Masterwork Media.

Magazine Format Programs: “Connections Live,” Rick Babusiak and Mandy Walker (executive producers), Brett Varvel (director), Justin Gladis and Laura Donaldson (producers), Todd Darroca (host) and Rachel Martin, Ball State University.




Recommended for you