Indiana Film Journalists pick year's best

"The Artist"

  • "The Artist"


Indiana Film Journalists Association

, an organization of Indiana residents producing "consistent, quality film criticism or commentary in any medium," announced the winners of its 2011 awards yesterday.

The Artist, a French silent film with musical soundtrack that has yet to screen in Indianapolis, won best film, best director (Michel Hazanavicius) and best score (Ludovic Bource). Win Win won two prizes, best actor (Paul Giamatti) and best original screenplay (Thomas McCarthy).

The Tree of Life won the Original Vision Award, which is "meant to recognize a film that is especially innovative or groundbreaking. And the Hoosier Award, which recognizes significant work by an Indiana resident, was awarded to Lindsay Goffman, the producer of Dumbstruck, a documentary about ventriloquists released by Magnolia Pictures.

The organization's 11 members include NUVO film editor Ed Johnson-Ott and contributor Matthew Socey.

Best Film of the Year

Winner: The Artist

Runner-up: The Descendants

Other Finalists: Coriolanus, Drive, Hugo, Martha Marcy May Marlene, The Muppets, The Skin I Live In, Super 8, The Tree of Life.

Best Animated Film

Winner: Rango

Runner-up: Winnie the Pooh

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: The Skin I Live In

Runner-up: 13 Assassins

Best Documentary

Winner: Project Nim

Runner-up: Into the Abyss

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Thomas McCarthy, Win Win

Runner-up: J.C. Chandor, Margin Call

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash, The Descendants

Runner-up: Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin, Moneyball

Best Director

Winner: Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist

Runner-up: Terrence Malick, The Tree of Life

Best Actress

Winner: Elizabeth Olsen, Martha Marcy May Marlene

Runner-up: Tilda Swinton, We Need To Talk About Kevin

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Viola Davis, The Help

Runner-up: Amy Ryan, Win Win

Best Actor

Winner: Paul Giamatti, Win Win

Runner-up: Ralph Fiennes, Coriolanus

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Christopher Plummer, Beginners

Runner-up: Albert Brooks, Drive

Best Musical Score

Winner: Ludovic Bource, The Artist

Runner-up: Howard Shore, Hugo

Original Vision Award

Winner: The Tree of Life

Runner-up: The Artist

The Hoosier Award

Winner: Lindsay Goffman, producer of Dumbstruck


Recommended for you