Spurs win fifth title in franchise history 

click to enlarge COURTESY: NBA/SPURS
  • Courtesy: NBA/Spurs

The San Antonino Spurs are NBA champions for the fifth time in franchise history. After last year's devastating loss the Spurs finished off the Miami Heat in five games Sunday night.

Kawhi Leonard lead the Spurs in points with 22 and was named Final MVP after the Spurs 104-87 win. According to ESPN, Leonard became the third youngest Finals MVP at 22 years old.

It didn't look great for the Spurs in the first quarter. The Spurs trailed by 16 points early before turning it around in the second and third quarters.

In the end the Spurs ball movement and sharp shooting was just too much for the Heat. The Spurs dominated in each of their four victories winning each game by an average of 18 points.

Last night was also a historic night for both Tim Duncan and Gregg Popovich. As the only two members left from the 1999 Spurs championship team, each joined exclusive clubs of greatness. According to Yahoo Sports, Popovich became one of only five coaches to win at least five titles. Duncan, on the other hand, became one of only 26 players to win at least five championships, according to Bleacher Report.

The Spurs franchise has now joined the Los Angeles Lakers, Boston Celtics, and Chicago Bulls as the only teams to win five or more titles.

For the Heat it was a disappointing end to a season in which they made it to the Finals four straight years. LeBron James finished with 31 points and 10 rebounds but again fell short in the Finals. He now stands at 2-3 in the Finals with two of those losses coming from the Spurs.


Around the Web

This Week's Flyers

About The Author

Aaron Maxey

Today's Best Bets | All of today's events

Around the Web

All contents copyright © 2017 NUVO Inc.
3951 N. Meridian St., Suite 200, Indianapolis, IN 46208
Website powered by Foundation