Right-to-work issue resuscitated 

By Shelby Salazar

An out-of-session study committee led by Sen. Phil Boots, R-Crawfordsville, will on Tuesday review the controversial right-to-work issue that helped spark a six-week walk-out by Democrats in the Indiana House.

An Indiana House committee passed a so-called right-to-work bill last spring, which would have allowed workers to opt out of paying union dues. But the legislation died when Democrats opposed to the bill fled to Illinois, denying majority Republicans the quorum needed to do business. Senate President Pro Tem David Long, R-Fort Wayne, announced then that the issue would be sent to a study committee for additional consideration.

That group will take up the issue at 9 a.m. Tuesday with an agenda that includes testimony from Nancy Guyott, president of the Indiana AFL-CIO; Mitch Roob, the state's commerce secretary; officials from the Indiana Chamber of Commerce; and Pete Rimsans, executive director of the Indiana State Building and Construction Trades Council.

The committee will not take public testimony.

Supporters of right-to-work legislation say it would help to bring more businesses to Indiana and increase job opportunities.

"We have a long standing position of support for right-to-work legislation," said Kevin Brinegar, president of the Indiana Chamber of Commerce. "It will improve job growth and income for Hoosiers."

Brinegar said that with the Republicans in control of the House and Senate, a right-to-work bill will pass in the future.

"Many other top priority issues, which had been held back when former Speaker of the House - Rep. (Pat) Bauer - and the Democrats were in charge, were passed this year," Brinegar said. "Right to work is unfinished, important business."

Guyott and others who oppose right to work argue that it would result in lower wages because it would cause the union to lose power.

Guyott said she want to see the committee "rule out the right-to-work legislation."

"If this is passed, this will create an even worse situation for working Hoosiers and their families," Guyott said.

Other members of the committee include Sen. Greg Walker, R-Columbus; Sen. Carlin Yoder, R-Indianapolis; Sen. Karen Tallian, D-Portage; Sen. James Arnold, D-LaPorte; Rep. Jerry Torr, R-Carmel; Rep. Sue Ellspermann, R-Ferdinand; Rep. Kreg Battles, D-Vincennes; and Rep. David Niezgodski, D-South Bend.

The above is one of an ongoing series of reports from the Indiana Statehouse by students at the Franklin College Pulliam School of Journalism.

Speaking of...

  • Varying degrees of success
  • Varying degrees of success

    Readers will remember that, among other activities this session, leaders: chose marriage definition as an issue of prime importance; determined that pre-K education was important enough to fund a limited pilot program; dipped into their rainy day transportation fund to try to catch up with back-logged transportation infrastructure projects; and, finally, gave Central Indiana residents the right to vote on funding mass transit improvements - as long as they don't involve light rail.
    • Mar 20, 2014
  • Indiana toddles toward pre-k, passes pilot
  • Indiana toddles toward pre-k, passes pilot

    Indiana General Assembly passes pre-K pilot program. Statehouse File reporter Antonio Codero has the story.
    • Mar 14, 2014
  • Teen pregnancy by the numbers
  • Teen pregnancy by the numbers

    Birth control is not a strong suit for Hoosier teens: More than one in three Indiana teenage girls has a baby.
    • Mar 13, 2014
  • More »

Latest in Politics


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment


Recent Comments

More by The Statehouse File

© 2014 NUVO | Website powered by Foundation