ISO announces 2010-11 season 

It's March, and that usually means announcement time for the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra's next season. In this case that means a next October starting month for the classical series, rather than the usual September - with the Gala Opening Night on Saturday, Oct. 2. Still, there will be 20 Friday-Saturday concert programs as has been the case in recent years - with 11 a.m. Coffee concerts sprinkled here and there on Thursdays. And unlike last season, the Gala will be a separate entity, held a week before the classical series begins.

The coming season will see many guest conductors returning for the music-director search committee to further assess, as well as the return of many popular guest soloists. Of those I've been most impressed with wielding the baton, I would have to name Gilbert Varga, Robert Spano, Jun Märkl and Mark Wigglesworth. It is noteworthy that ISO conductor Laureate Raymond Leppard will end the season on June 18 with a performance of Beethoven's Ninth, which was due to be cycled through the orchestra's program schedule.

As for all arts organizations, funding remains a problem. Hiring a new music director to replace the ousted Mario Venzago last July shows two sides of a coin: The longer the ISO uses guest conductors, the longer the organization doesn't have to pay a fixed, six-figure, music-director salary. But for all other reasons, selection of an orchestra "leader" should be done as soon as possible: to help fill currently vacant player "chairs"; to mold his forces into a recognizable playing style; to hopefully be a community force for ISO promotion and fundraising - something Venzago, despite his otherwise all-positive attributes, could not be as a continuing resident of Germany.

Here is the ISO's entire classical season, from start to finish. The emboldened programs denote the Symphonic Hits series within the general classical programs. The asterisked dates refer to Coffee Concerts:

Program No. 1: Midori Plays Beethoven's Violin Concerto

Thursday, October 7, 11 a.m.*

Friday, October 8, 8 p.m.

Saturday, October 9, 8 p.m.

Juanjo Mena , Conductor

Midori, Violin

ARRIAGA Overture to Los esclavos felices

BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto

BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra

("Finale" Only Performed Thurs. 11 a.m.)

Program No. 2: Brahms 4

Friday, October 22, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 23, 7:30 p.m.

James Gaffigan, Conductor

Time for Three, String Trio

MOZART Divertimento for Strings in D Major

CHRIS BRUBECK Travels in Time for Three

BRAHMS Symphony No. 4

Program No. 3: Mahler 5

Friday, November 5, 8 p.m.

Saturday, November 6, 5:30 p.m.

Juraj Valcuha, Conductor

WAGNER Siegfried Idyll

MAHLER Symphony No. 5

Program No. 4: Mozart 40

Thursday, November 18, 11 a.m.*

Friday, November 19, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 20, 7:30 p.m.

Joanna Carneiro, Conductor

David Bellman, Clarinet (ISO Principal Clarinet)

MOZART Clarinet Concerto (Not Performed Thurs. 11 a.m.)

SHOSTAKOVICH Chamber Symphony

MOZART Symphony No. 40

Program No. 5: Franck's Symphony in D Minor

Friday, January 7, 8 p.m.

Saturday, January 8, 5:30 p.m.

Gilbert Varga, Conductor

Marc-André Hamelin, Piano

CLAUDE BAKER Piano Concerto (World Premiere)*

FRANCK Symphony in D Minor

*Commissioned by the ISO, Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, & Barlow Endowment for Music Composition

Program No. 6: André Watts Plays Beethoven's "Emperor" Concerto

Thursday, January 20, 11 a.m.*

Friday, January 21, 8 p.m.

Saturday, January 22, 8 p.m.

Carlo Rizzi, Conductor

André Watts, Piano

MOZART Overture to The Marriage of Figaro

(Not Performed Thurs. 11 a.m.)

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 5 ("Emperor")

BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique

(Mvts. IV & V Only Performed Thurs. 11 a.m.)

Program No. 7: Beethoven 7

Friday, January 28, 8 p.m.

Saturday, January 29, 5:30 p.m.

Conductor TBA

Alexander Toradze, Piano

RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Suite from The Golden Cockerel

PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No. 3

BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7

Program No. 8: Dvo?ák's Cello Concerto

Thursday, February 3, 11 a.m.*

Friday, February 4, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 5, 7:30 p.m.

Jun Märkl, Conductor

Zuill Baily, Cello

DVO?ÁK In Nature's Realm

DVO?ÁK The Water Goblin

DVO?ÁK Cello Concerto

Program No. 9: Haydn's "The Creation"

Friday, February 18, 8 p.m.

Saturday, February 19, 8 p.m.

Douglas Boyd, Conductor

Sarah Tynan, Soprano

Thomas Cooley, Tenor

Matthew Rose, Baritone

Indianapolis Symphonic Choir

HAYDN The Creation

Program No. 10: Beethoven & Liszt

Friday, February 25, 8 p.m.

Saturday, February 26, 5:30 p.m.

Ludovic Morlot, Conductor

Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Piano

BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 6 ("Pastorale")

LISZT Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2

LISZT Piano Concerto No. 1

LISZT Totentanz (Dance of Death)

Program No. 11: Ingrid Fliter Plays Saint-Saëns' Second Piano Concerto

Friday, March 4, 8 p.m.

Saturday, March 5, 8 p.m.

Pablo Heras-Casado, Conductor

Ingrid Fliter, Piano

JOHN ADAMS Lollapalooza

SAINT-SAËNS Piano Concerto No. 2

COPLAND Symphony No. 2 ("Short Symphony")

DEBUSSY La Mer (The Sea)

Program No. 12: Dvo?ák 8

Thursday, March 10, 11 a.m.*

Friday, March 11, 8 p.m.

Saturday, March 12, 5:30 p.m.

Jakub Hrusa, Conductor

Karen Gomyo, Violin

FRANCK The Accursed Huntsman

(Not Performed Thurs. 11 a.m.)

PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 2

DVO?ÁK Symphony No. 8

Program No. 13: Spano Conducts Resphighi

Friday, March 18, 8 p.m.

Saturday, March 19, 8 p.m.

Robert Spano, Conductor

Colin Currie, Percussion

Honor Orchestra of America*

SIBELIUS Finlandia

RAUTAVAARA Incantations

RESPIGHI The Fountains of Rome

RESPIGHI The Pines of Rome

*The Honor Orchestra of America will perform a short program at 7 p.m. They do NOT perform with the ISO.

Program No. 14: Beethoven's First Piano Concerto

Friday, April 1, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 2, 7:30 p.m.

Mark Wigglesworth, Conductor

Jeremy Denk, Piano

WAGNER Prelude to Parsifal

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 1

SIBELIUS Symphony No. 2

Program No. 15: Shostakovich 5

Thursday, April 7, 11 a.m.*

Friday, April 8, 8 p.m.

Saturday, April 9, 8 p.m.

Arild Remmereit, Conductor

James Ehnes, Violin

SÆVERUD Ballad of Revolt

MOZART Violin Concerto No. 4 (Not Performed Thurs. 11 a.m.)


Program No. 16: Joshua Bell Plays Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto

Friday, May 6, 8 p.m.

Saturday, May 7, 5:30 p.m.

Christoph Eberle, Conductor

Joshua Bell, Violin

TBA Marilyn K. Glick Young Composer Award Winner

TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto

TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4

Program No. 17: Vivaldi's The Four Seasons

Thursday, May 12, 11 a.m.

Friday, May 13, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 14, 7:30 p.m.

Zach De Pue, Violin & Leader (ISO Concertmaster)

Michael Isaac Strauss, Viola (ISO Principal Viola)

MOZART Sinfonia concertante for Violin and Viola

VIVALDI The Four Seasons ("Fall" Not Performed Thurs. 11 a.m.)

Program No. 18: Mendelssohn 3

Friday, May 20, 8 p.m.

Saturday, May 21, 5:30 p.m.

Pietari Inkinen, Conductor

Barnabás Kelemen, Violin

MENDELSSOHN The Hebrides Overture ("Fingal's Cave")

SIBELIUS Violin Concerto

MENDELSSOHN Symphony No. 3 ("Scottish")

Program No. 19: Brahms' First Piano Concerto

Thursday, June 2, 11 a.m.*

Friday, June 3, 8 p.m.

Saturday, June 4, 5:30 p.m.

Hannu Lintu, Conductor

Antti Siirala, Piano

HAYDN Symphony No. 96 ("The Miracle")

R. STRAUSS Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks

(Not Performed Thurs. 11 a.m.)

BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1

Program No. 20: Beethoven 9

Friday, June 17, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 18, 7:30 p.m.

Raymond Leppard, Conductor

Soloists TBA

Indianapolis Symphonic Choir

BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 8

BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 9

Around the Web


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

This Week's Flyers

About The Author

Tom Aldridge

Today's Best Bets | All of today's events

Around the Web

All contents copyright © 2016 NUVO Inc.
3951 N. Meridian St., Suite 200, Indianapolis, IN 46208
Website powered by Foundation