Finalists named for open Indiana Supreme Court seat 

click to enlarge timthumb.jpg

Fifteen finalists have been named for the open seat on the Indiana Supreme Court.

Justice Brent Dickson is retiring in April after 30 years as a judicial branch leader.

Thirty judges and lawyers submitted applications. One withdrew his name from consideration. The Judicial Nominating Commission interviewed 29. The commission considers the applicant’s legal education, writings and reputation.

The commission announced Friday that it had selected the following 15 finalists:

Hon. James R. Ahler

Hon. Vicki L. Carmichael

Hon. Paul R. Cherry

Hon. Darrin M. Dolehanty

Hon. Thomas J. Felts

Mr. Thomas M. Fisher

Hon. Frances C. Gull

Hon. Steven L. Hostetler

Hon. Matthew C. Kincaid

Mr. Mark A. Lienhoop

Hon. Steven R. Nation

Mr. Peter J. Rusthoven

Mr. Geoffrey G. Slaughter

Rep. Thomas W. Washburne

Mr. Thomas E. Wheeler, II

The commission will interview the 15 finalists March 14 and 15. They will then publicly vote to send three nominees to the governor who has 60 days to select the justice.


Around the Web

This Week's Flyers

About The Author

The Statehouse File

Bio: is a news service powered by Franklin College journalism students.

Today's Best Bets | All of today's events

Around the Web

All contents copyright © 2017 NUVO Inc.
3951 N. Meridian St., Suite 200, Indianapolis, IN 46208
Website powered by Foundation