Election Fun Facts from Marion County 


General Election Fast Facts for Marion County, Indiana

Thanks to fabulous and accessible Angie Nussmeyer, Marion County Clerk's Office media liaison!!!

Marion County Registered Voters: 640,699

 Increase of 28,329 registered voters in Marion County since the May 2012 primary election

 October 9 was the voter registration deadline in Indiana

Total Number of Precincts: 600

Total Number of Polling Locations: 300

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. in Indianapolis/Marion County

o If voters are in the chute (a defined area at least 50 feet from the voting activity) at 6 p.m., they are permitted to vote.

Absentee Numbers (as of 6 pm, Monday, November 5)

 Total Absentee ballots received: 57,962

o Early In‐Person Voters: 39,189

o Traveling Board & fax/email (military & overseas only): 1402 (2523 total requests)

o Mail: 17,371 (19,520 total requests)

 Civilian voters must return their vote‐by‐mail ballots before 6 p.m. Election Day, November 6

 2012 presidential election comparison: 93,316 total absentees (mail, traveling board, military/overseas & mail)

Marion County Ballot

 In this election, Marion County voters will vote for:

Federal Offices

o President/Vice President, US Senate, US House of Representatives (Districts 5 & 7)

 State Offices

o Governor/Lt. Governor, Attorney General, Superintendent of Public Instruction, IN Senate & House

 County/Local Offices

o Surveyor, Treasurer, Coroner, Superior Court Judge, Township Advisory Board, Non‐partisan School Board & Judicial Retention Questions

Voter Information

 Marion County voters can use the Voter Information Portal at www.indy.gov/VIP to determine their polling location and to view a sample ballot

 Automated phone‐based polling place located at (317) 327‐VOTE (8683)

 Issues at the polls on Election Day? Call (317) 327‐VOTE and select option 2 Poll Workers

 Each precinct traditionally has one Inspector, who serves as the precinct's manager under Indiana election law.

 There are no more than two Judges, one from each major political party, at each precinct. Judges check voter IDs and provide assistance to voters.

 There are no more than two Clerks, one from each major political party, at each precinct. Clerks manage the poll books and provide each voter with a ballot.

Inspector Hotline  Election Board recruits about 30 people in every election to serve as hotline operators, answering calls and helping poll workers troubleshoot issues out in the field.

 Operators use the Election Board's Incident Reporting Software, developed by the county's IT department to disseminate, track and report issues.

Voting Equipment  M100 - optical scan ballot reader

o Ovals are darkened next to the candidates' name and the voter feeds the ballots into the machine

o Most frequently used voting equipment at the polling location

 iVotronic - touch screen machine

o Designed specifically for voters with disabilities; however, any voter can choose to use

o Audio‐enabled feature to assist visually impaired voters

Election Results  When the polls close, the poll workers run an unofficial results report, break down the voting machines and account for all of the ballots

 Materials are delivered to four regional locations

 Center: IPS School 15, 2302 E. Michigan St.

o Center Township ‐ Wards 1‐17, 23, 25 & 30

 Northeast: Belzer Middle School, 7555 E. 56th St

o Lawrence & Washington Townships PLUS Wards 20, 21, 22, 27 & 31

 Southeast: Arlington Elementary School, 5814 S. Arlington Ave. Center Outside, Perry, Franklin & Warren Townships PLUS Wards 18, 26, 28

 West: Chapelwood Elementary School, 1129 N. Girls School Rd. o Decatur, Pike & Wayne Townships PLUS Wards 19, 24, 29, 32

 Data from the electronic media from the voting machines is uploaded to the central location

o Election Services Center serves as the central location

 Located at 3737 E. Washington St.

o Members of the press and the public are welcome to be on‐site after 6 p.m. to watch the returns.

Election Board members will brief the media as needed from this location.

 Results are released cumulatively on the city's Web site - www.indy.gov and Election Administration

 Marion County Board of Voter Registration

o Bi‐partisan board with a co‐director from the two major political parties

o Separate legal entity from the Election Board

o Responsible for maintaining Marion County's voter registration database

 Marion County Election Board

o Three member board: one Democrat, one Republican and the elected Clerk of the Circuit Court, who serves by virtue of her elected office

 Chairman: Mark Sullivan (D)

 Vice‐Chairman: Patrick Dietrick (R)

 Secretary: Elizabeth White, Marion County Clerk

o The two partisan members are appointed by the local major political parties and serve at the pleasure of the respective party's chair

o Election Board is responsible for administering and managing federal, municipal and special elections as governed by applicable state and federal laws and the enforcement of election laws, including those relating to interference with elections, voter intimidation and voter fraud.

 Mayor's Office

o The mayor's office is responsible for selecting polling locations in Marion County because the mayor is the county executive.

Related Locations


Speaking of 2012 Election, City-County Building

Readers also liked…

Around the Web

This Week's Flyers

About The Author

NUVO Editors

Today's Best Bets | All of today's events

Around the Web

All contents copyright © 2017 NUVO Inc.
3951 N. Meridian St., Suite 200, Indianapolis, IN 46208
Website powered by Foundation