20 years: NUVO Cultural Vision Awards 

An old saw about Indianapolis, trotted out by way of communal self-justification for this city's penchant for civic foot-dragging, has it that our tendency to late adoption is actually a canny strategy. We let other places work the kinks out of new ideas before trying them on ourselves. We make fewer mistakes that way.


Not only is that attitude anti-innovation, it's not true.

And it's why NUVO created the Cultural Vision Awards in 1999. NUVO had been writing stories about creative individuals and organizations for almost a decade. We thought it was about time Indianapolis recognized its home-grown innovators. The Cultural Vision Awards were the result: NUVO's way of celebrating the fact that new ideas, original work and fresh solutions for stubborn problems are born here, in our own backyard.

Presented every Spring, the Cultural Vision Awards have proven to be an annual source of inspiration for everyone involved. A look at this list of past honorees shows why -- it scans like a composite portrait of some of this city's most valuable human resources.

Please join us on June 4, 2010 to honor this year's CVA recipients. This year's honorees include:

Big Car

Earth House

Eiteljorg Museum Fellows Program for contemporary artists

Herron High School

Indy Pride Bag Ladies

King Park's Gramse Project

My Old Kentucky Blog

NUVO Cultural Vision Award Honorees 1999-2009 1999

Central Indiana Community Foundation / Brian Payne

Asante Children's Theatre / Deborah Asante

Indianapolis Art Center / Joyce Sommers

The Polis Center / David Bodenhamer

Circle Center Mall Mural Project / Carol Tharp-Pervin and Larry Gindhart

Parents for Public Education / Maureen Jayne

STAR Program - Broad Ripple High School / Ralph Bedwell

STAR Program - Thomson Consumer Electronics / Dick Knoph

Thomas Binford (Lifetime Achievement)


Indianapolis Marion Co. Public Library "Meet the Artist" / Anthony Radford

La Plaza — Fiesta / Carmen DeRusha

Tabernacle Presbyterian Church / John Byers

Indianapolis 10 Point Coalition / Rev. Charles Harrison

Young Audiences of Indiana / Joellen Florio Rossebo

Indy Jazz Fest/APA / Cameron Smith

Southeast Neighborhood Development / Bill Taft

WFYI "Across Indiana" / Michael Atwood

Ten Point Coalition /Rev. Charles Harrison

Sam Jones (Lifetime Achievement)


Armonics Architecture / Olon Dotson and Russell Lewis

Julian Center / Anne Delaney

Phoenix Theatre / Bryan Fonseca

Key Learning Community / Patricia Bolanos

Dayspring Center / Nellie Gold

Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson

International Violin Competition / Glenn Kwok

Indy Parks Greenways / Ray Irvin

Fr. Boniface Hardin (Lifetime Achievement)


Indianapolis Convention & Visitors Association / Bill McGowan

Butler University Theatre Department / Dr. John Green

Branching Out Productions / Dino Sierp

Berdache Communications / Wayne Zink

Peace Learning Center / Charlie Wiles

Christamore House / Olgen Williams

Concerned Clergy of Indianapolis / Rev. C.V. Jetter

CURE / Celia Sweet

Theater of Inclusion / Dante Ventresca

Susurrus / Melli Hoppe

Rayomnd Leppard (Lifetime Achievement)


Indiana Youth Group / Rob Connelly

Key Cinema / Ron Keedy

Martin Luther King Mulit-Service Center / Diane Jackson

Hoosier Envrionmental Council / Tim Maloney

Community Faith and Labor Coalition / Nancy Holle

The IU-Kenya Partnership / Robert Einterz, M.D.

Bulter University Writers' Series / Susan Neville/Fran Quinn

100 Black Men of Indianapolis / Rod Haywood

Blaine Hogan

U.S. Congressman Andy Jacobs (Lifetime Achievement)


Ball State University Indianapolis Center / Scott Truex

Chatterbox Jazz Club /David Andrichik

Organization for a New Eastside / Terry Jones

Indiana General Assembly Rep. Bill Crawford

Improving Kids Environment / Tom Neltner

United States of Mind / Josh Strodman

Emmis Broadcasting / Ed Wank & Dave O'Brien

Storytelling Arts of Indiana / Ellen Munds

Indiana Film Commission / Jane Rulon

Mari Evans (Lifetime Achievement)


American Pianists Assoc. / Helen Small

AYS / Ellen Clippinger

Radio Radio / David and Roni Clough

Harrison Center for the Arts / Joanna Taft

Heartland Film Festival / Jeff Sparks

Historic Landmarks Foundation / J. Reid Williamson

Second Helpings / Gina Brooks

Traders Point Creamery / Peter and Jane Elder Kunz

Young and Laramore / David Young

Anna White (Lifetime Achievement)


Forest Manor Multi-Service Center /Regina Marsh

Big Hat Books / Liz Barden

IDADA / Mark Ruschman

Planned Parenthood of Indiana /Betty Cockrum

Luna Music / Todd Robinson

Indianapolis Cultural Development Commission (Kiera Amstutz)

Justice for Janitors / Becky Maran

ACLU of Indiana / Ken Falk

Indianapolis Museum of Art / Lisa Freiman

Virtue and Aletra Hampton (Lifetime Achievement)


Indiana Canine Assitant Network / Sally Irvin

Sagamore Institute / John Clark

Indy Fringe Festival / Pauline Moffatt

Indianapolis Metropolitan Youth Orchestra / Betty Perry

YATS! / Joe Vuskovich

Buselli Wallarab Jazz Orchestra / Mark Buselli

Indiana Equality / Jon Keep

Tonic Ball / Ken Honeywell

William Ryder

Sandy Reiberg (Lifetime Achievement)


Indianapolis International Film Festival / Brian Owens

Theatre on the Square / Ron Spencer

Keep Indianapolis Beautiful / David Forsell

Indy PRIDE / Scott Van Kirk

R Bistro / Regina Mehallick

Indy Feral / Lisa Tudor

Indianapolis Peace and Justice Center / Ron and Jane Haldeman

Standard Recording Co. / Mark Latta and Kevin Phillips

Indianapolis Children's Choir / Don Steffy and Henry Leck

Gerald Bepko (Lifetime Achievement)


Jazz Kitchen / David Allee

Girls Inc. / Pat Wachtel

Indianapolis Animal Care & Control / Doug Rae

Indianapolis Motor Speedway / Tony George

Silver in the City / Kristen Kohn

Big City Farms / Matthew Jose

Spotlight / Rob McPherson

Murphy Arts Center / Phil Campbell

Naptown Roller Girls

Joyce Sommers (Lifetime Achievment)

Related Locations


Around the Web

This Week's Flyers

About The Author

NUVO Editors

Today's Best Bets | All of today's events

Around the Web

All contents copyright © 2017 NUVO Inc.
3951 N. Meridian St., Suite 200, Indianapolis, IN 46208
Website powered by Foundation